wormy.git
13 years agoparse-wormedit: preliminary 86s parsing
Mischa Poslawsky [Wed, 25 Feb 2009 17:26:40 +0000 (18:26 +0100)]
parse-wormedit: preliminary 86s parsing

Read (current) compiled level strings.  Restructure code a bit to keep
different file formats modularised.

13 years agogit: recognise level files
Mischa Poslawsky [Wed, 25 Feb 2009 12:38:55 +0000 (13:38 +0100)]
git: recognise level files

Set filetype for all (likely to be) levels to "wormylevel", so it is
possible to use custom handling for them.  Notably, for more detailed
diffs than 'binary files differ', users can use parse-wormedit output
for example:

git config --global diff.wormylevel.textconv parse-wormedit

13 years agoparse-wormedit: support older wormedit versions
Mischa Poslawsky [Wed, 25 Feb 2009 10:35:02 +0000 (11:35 +0100)]
parse-wormedit: support older wormedit versions

Detect earlier version 95, 94, and 93 headers (or by --version
override), and parse data accordingly (each former format is mostly
a subset; hide output if it's not present yet).

For version 95 there was also an intermediate file in history, which
has been rewritten to specify (sub)version 94 in order to be able to
detect it automatically.

Uses Perl v5.10 features for slightly nicer code (wasn't necessary,
but compatibility is unlikely to be an issue (who else is gonna run
this code anyway?)).

13 years agoparse-wormedit: more details in summarised mode
Mischa Poslawsky [Wed, 25 Feb 2009 08:45:54 +0000 (09:45 +0100)]
parse-wormedit: more details in summarised mode

Display various episode and level properties, giving a more complete
overview (without actually drawing anything that is).

13 years agoparse-wormedit: perl script to parse wormedit level data
Mischa Poslawsky [Tue, 24 Feb 2009 12:54:04 +0000 (13:54 +0100)]
parse-wormedit: perl script to parse wormedit level data

Quickish script to summarise level contents, without requiring to
execute the editor (which involves an DOS environment and unparseable
output).

Code should also be much more readable than my horrible Pascal blob, so
simultaneously serves as a format description (and can return all data
in JSON structure, in case anyone has the desire to read it).

13 years agomakefile to build wormy.86p
Mischa Poslawsky [Wed, 25 Feb 2009 07:12:59 +0000 (08:12 +0100)]
makefile to build wormy.86p

Automated make rules to ease Wormy compilation, at least on Unix
systems.  Assume non-Windows, but default to use DOS tasm.exe and
prgm86.exe programs, since they are the most common and seem to work
decently in Wine.  Alternative (native) tools can be specified in a
custom local.mk.

13 years agogit: ignore expected compiler programs and results
Mischa Poslawsky [Wed, 25 Feb 2009 05:11:30 +0000 (06:11 +0100)]
git: ignore expected compiler programs and results

13 years agoconvert source text files to unicode
Mischa Poslawsky [Tue, 24 Feb 2009 02:20:01 +0000 (03:20 +0100)]
convert source text files to unicode

Convert CP-437 characters to proper UTF-8 (except for output naturally).
Also use line terminators instead of seperators (i.e. whitespace at EOF).

13 years agocase-insensitive z80 label usage
Mischa Poslawsky [Tue, 24 Feb 2009 01:47:02 +0000 (02:47 +0100)]
case-insensitive z80 label usage

Rename labels conflicting with other capitalisation (eg Start vs start)
because some compilers (at least spasm) do not support case-sensitive
labeling.

13 years agotodo update
Mischa Poslawsky [Sun, 31 Mar 2002 19:10:20 +0000 (21:10 +0200)]
todo update

13 years agowormy 1.00 stable!
Mischa Poslawsky [Wed, 6 Mar 2002 19:52:54 +0000 (20:52 +0100)]
wormy 1.00 stable!

13 years agowormedit: minor reinitialisation fixes
Mischa Poslawsky [Wed, 6 Mar 2002 19:12:04 +0000 (20:12 +0100)]
wormedit: minor reinitialisation fixes

13 years agofinalise readme for release
Mischa Poslawsky [Wed, 6 Mar 2002 18:52:28 +0000 (19:52 +0100)]
finalise readme for release

13 years agopersonal pascal include
Mischa Poslawsky [Sat, 8 Sep 2001 11:57:58 +0000 (13:57 +0200)]
personal pascal include

13 years agowormy episodes
Mischa Poslawsky [Wed, 6 Mar 2002 18:50:18 +0000 (19:50 +0100)]
wormy episodes

13 years agowormy 0.99.305
Mischa Poslawsky [Tue, 5 Mar 2002 23:34:34 +0000 (00:34 +0100)]
wormy 0.99.305

13 years agowormy 0.99.304B
Mischa Poslawsky [Mon, 4 Mar 2002 14:20:42 +0000 (15:20 +0100)]
wormy 0.99.304B

13 years agowormy 0.99.304
Mischa Poslawsky [Mon, 4 Mar 2002 12:51:10 +0000 (13:51 +0100)]
wormy 0.99.304

13 years agowormy 0.98.227
Mischa Poslawsky [Wed, 27 Feb 2002 20:49:50 +0000 (21:49 +0100)]
wormy 0.98.227

13 years agowormedit: fix ctf level count
Mischa Poslawsky [Mon, 25 Feb 2002 10:11:44 +0000 (11:11 +0100)]
wormedit: fix ctf level count

13 years agowormy 0.98.225
Mischa Poslawsky [Mon, 25 Feb 2002 22:29:12 +0000 (23:29 +0100)]
wormy 0.98.225

13 years agowormy episode #1
Mischa Poslawsky [Mon, 25 Feb 2002 10:45:20 +0000 (11:45 +0100)]
wormy episode #1

13 years agowormy 0.98.118
Mischa Poslawsky [Sat, 19 Jan 2002 23:49:32 +0000 (00:49 +0100)]
wormy 0.98.118

13 years agofourth wormy episode: All your Wormy
Mischa Poslawsky [Sat, 19 Jan 2002 23:27:26 +0000 (00:27 +0100)]
fourth wormy episode: All your Wormy

13 years agowormedit 0.53
Mischa Poslawsky [Sat, 19 Jan 2002 18:53:46 +0000 (19:53 +0100)]
wormedit 0.53

Add public worm5253 script to convert levels in the old v0.95 format,
because such files are already circulating.

13 years agowormy 0.97.116
Mischa Poslawsky [Wed, 16 Jan 2002 22:02:34 +0000 (23:02 +0100)]
wormy 0.97.116

13 years agowormedit 0.51
Mischa Poslawsky [Mon, 14 Jan 2002 14:36:56 +0000 (15:36 +0100)]
wormedit 0.51

13 years agowormy 0.97.115
Mischa Poslawsky [Tue, 15 Jan 2002 22:47:02 +0000 (23:47 +0100)]
wormy 0.97.115

13 years agowormy 0.97.109
Mischa Poslawsky [Tue, 8 Jan 2002 23:33:12 +0000 (00:33 +0100)]
wormy 0.97.109

13 years agowormy 0.97.105
Mischa Poslawsky [Sat, 5 Jan 2002 20:14:46 +0000 (21:14 +0100)]
wormy 0.97.105

13 years agowormedit 0.5.2103
Mischa Poslawsky [Wed, 2 Jan 2002 20:03:52 +0000 (21:03 +0100)]
wormedit 0.5.2103

13 years agowormy 0.97.103
Mischa Poslawsky [Thu, 3 Jan 2002 21:30:14 +0000 (22:30 +0100)]
wormy 0.97.103

13 years agowormy 0.96.C24
Mischa Poslawsky [Mon, 24 Dec 2001 11:02:06 +0000 (12:02 +0100)]
wormy 0.96.C24

13 years agowormy episode #1 C23
Mischa Poslawsky [Sun, 23 Dec 2001 13:27:44 +0000 (14:27 +0100)]
wormy episode #1 C23

13 years agothird wormy episode: Wormy and his Friends =)
Mischa Poslawsky [Sun, 23 Dec 2001 10:00:34 +0000 (11:00 +0100)]
third wormy episode: Wormy and his Friends =)

Official multiplayer levels.

13 years agosecond wormy episode: Pj34r d4 W0RM!
Mischa Poslawsky [Sat, 22 Dec 2001 00:34:36 +0000 (01:34 +0100)]
second wormy episode: Pj34r d4 W0RM!

13 years agowormy 0.95.1C21
Mischa Poslawsky [Fri, 21 Dec 2001 14:37:00 +0000 (15:37 +0100)]
wormy 0.95.1C21

13 years agowormedit 0.5.1C20
Mischa Poslawsky [Thu, 20 Dec 2001 20:38:28 +0000 (21:38 +0100)]
wormedit 0.5.1C20

13 years agowormy 0.96.1C14
Mischa Poslawsky [Fri, 14 Dec 2001 15:45:58 +0000 (16:45 +0100)]
wormy 0.96.1C14

13 years agowormy 0.95.1B09
Mischa Poslawsky [Wed, 12 Dec 2001 20:20:06 +0000 (21:20 +0100)]
wormy 0.95.1B09

13 years agowormy 0.95.1914
Mischa Poslawsky [Fri, 14 Sep 2001 18:26:08 +0000 (20:26 +0200)]
wormy 0.95.1914

13 years agowormedit 0.95.1914
Mischa Poslawsky [Fri, 14 Sep 2001 19:57:08 +0000 (21:57 +0200)]
wormedit 0.95.1914

13 years agowormy 0.95.1909
Mischa Poslawsky [Sun, 9 Sep 2001 10:25:14 +0000 (12:25 +0200)]
wormy 0.95.1909

13 years agowormedit 0.95.1908
Mischa Poslawsky [Sat, 8 Sep 2001 21:03:26 +0000 (23:03 +0200)]
wormedit 0.95.1908

13 years agowormy 0.95.1907: spiffy readme formatting
Mischa Poslawsky [Tue, 4 Sep 2001 23:10:00 +0000 (01:10 +0200)]
wormy 0.95.1907: spiffy readme formatting

13 years agowormy 0.95.1907
Mischa Poslawsky [Fri, 7 Sep 2001 13:01:52 +0000 (15:01 +0200)]
wormy 0.95.1907

13 years agogame over screen mockup
Mischa Poslawsky [Sun, 26 Aug 2001 13:56:20 +0000 (15:56 +0200)]
game over screen mockup

13 years agowormy level at 0.95.1907
Mischa Poslawsky [Wed, 29 Aug 2001 15:30:44 +0000 (17:30 +0200)]
wormy level at 0.95.1907

13 years agowormedit 0.95.1907
Mischa Poslawsky [Thu, 6 Sep 2001 21:24:58 +0000 (23:24 +0200)]
wormedit 0.95.1907

13 years agowormy 0.94.1430
Mischa Poslawsky [Mon, 30 Apr 2001 20:44:04 +0000 (22:44 +0200)]
wormy 0.94.1430

13 years agowormy/wormedit 0.94.1422
Mischa Poslawsky [Sun, 22 Apr 2001 12:46:06 +0000 (14:46 +0200)]
wormy/wormedit 0.94.1422

13 years agowormy 0.93.1415
Mischa Poslawsky [Sun, 15 Apr 2001 11:59:36 +0000 (13:59 +0200)]
wormy 0.93.1415

13 years agowormy 0.93.1413
Mischa Poslawsky [Fri, 13 Apr 2001 00:51:44 +0000 (02:51 +0200)]
wormy 0.93.1413

13 years agowormy 0.93.1411
Mischa Poslawsky [Tue, 10 Apr 2001 15:11:28 +0000 (17:11 +0200)]
wormy 0.93.1411

13 years agowormedit 0.93.1324
Mischa Poslawsky [Sat, 24 Mar 2001 21:42:10 +0000 (22:42 +0100)]
wormedit 0.93.1324

13 years agowormedit 0.93.1303
Mischa Poslawsky [Sat, 3 Mar 2001 16:31:14 +0000 (17:31 +0100)]
wormedit 0.93.1303

13 years agowormedit 0.92.0618
Mischa Poslawsky [Sun, 18 Jun 2000 14:50:26 +0000 (16:50 +0200)]
wormedit 0.92.0618

Replaces the need for level source example.

13 years agowormy 0.93.1403: beta release
Mischa Poslawsky [Mon, 9 Apr 2001 12:40:32 +0000 (14:40 +0200)]
wormy 0.93.1403: beta release

13 years agowormy 0.93.1331: overhaul levelset selection
Mischa Poslawsky [Sat, 31 Mar 2001 11:17:46 +0000 (13:17 +0200)]
wormy 0.93.1331: overhaul levelset selection

- minor input-related changes
- horizontal line objects
  - faster if compiled with horizontal line routine (circles too)
- improve episode select screen (list options vertically)

13 years agowormy 0.93.1330: first episode using wormedit
Mischa Poslawsky [Fri, 30 Mar 2001 17:27:36 +0000 (19:27 +0200)]
wormy 0.93.1330: first episode using wormedit

13 years agowormy 0.93.1325: documentation improvements
Mischa Poslawsky [Sun, 25 Mar 2001 12:20:22 +0000 (14:20 +0200)]
wormy 0.93.1325: documentation improvements

13 years agowormy 0.93.1304: circles, customisable controls
Mischa Poslawsky [Sun, 4 Mar 2001 13:31:42 +0000 (14:31 +0100)]
wormy 0.93.1304: circles, customisable controls

- update title picture to new name
- player keys can be entered from menu
- some bugs fixed like the one that stored names wrong
- game over screen looks better (less basic)
- levels can have *circles* in them!
  - wrote a nice routine from scratch (mostly on paper during vacation)
- default player names (Wormy, Viper, Nibbler, Spunky)

13 years agowormy 0.925.1225: new menu
Mischa Poslawsky [Sun, 25 Feb 2001 00:39:12 +0000 (01:39 +0100)]
wormy 0.925.1225: new menu

- menu completely redone, so it is much easier to use and more pretty
  - current selection is inverted instead of marked with *

13 years agorename to Wormy
Mischa Poslawsky [Sun, 22 Feb 2009 15:25:41 +0000 (16:25 +0100)]
rename to Wormy

13 years agoworm 0.92.0907: link improvements
Mischa Poslawsky [Thu, 7 Sep 2000 16:36:00 +0000 (18:36 +0200)]
worm 0.92.0907: link improvements

13 years agoworm 0.92.0623: alpha release; tron, fat lines
Mischa Poslawsky [Fri, 23 Jun 2000 12:25:52 +0000 (14:25 +0200)]
worm 0.92.0623: alpha release; tron, fat lines

- fix left+down bug
  (froze the calc while certain keys were pressed simultaneously)
- Tron game mode in which worms do not shrink (both single- and multiplayer)
- extensible object types (adds 'fat lines' and allows for more)
- default sprite fallback
- very limited release
  (add some padding to indicate future size increase)

13 years agoworm 0.91.0524: further link improvements
Mischa Poslawsky [Wed, 24 May 2000 20:22:56 +0000 (22:22 +0200)]
worm 0.91.0524: further link improvements

The work continues.  Documents base send/receive routines.

13 years agoworm 0.91.0516: send game data over link (wip)
Mischa Poslawsky [Tue, 16 May 2000 11:00:54 +0000 (13:00 +0200)]
worm 0.91.0516: send game data over link (wip)

13 years agoworm 0.91.0507: improve key handling, mask game field before start
Mischa Poslawsky [Sun, 7 May 2000 11:34:28 +0000 (13:34 +0200)]
worm 0.91.0507: improve key handling, mask game field before start

13 years agoworm 0.90.0505: ctf improvements, link development
Mischa Poslawsky [Fri, 5 May 2000 13:14:56 +0000 (15:14 +0200)]
worm 0.90.0505: ctf improvements, link development

13 years agoworm 0.90.0503: ctf, example level file
Mischa Poslawsky [Wed, 3 May 2000 10:30:24 +0000 (12:30 +0200)]
worm 0.90.0503: ctf, example level file

- capture the flag, though not perfect yet (issues replacing food)
- seperate playable levelset from fully documented (tutorial) example

13 years agoworm 0.90.0501: title picture, mode-specific improvements
Mischa Poslawsky [Mon, 1 May 2000 13:02:24 +0000 (15:02 +0200)]
worm 0.90.0501: title picture, mode-specific improvements

- title picture at main menu ("worm" formed by wormies)
- improve race scoring, remove hunting
- initial multifood support
- first worm can grow twice as long (useful in Peaworm games)
- scores saved for each peaworm level

13 years agoworm 0.89.0426: further memory usage analysis/tweaking
Mischa Poslawsky [Wed, 26 Apr 2000 11:34:54 +0000 (13:34 +0200)]
worm 0.89.0426: further memory usage analysis/tweaking

13 years agoworm 0.89.0423
Mischa Poslawsky [Sun, 23 Apr 2000 17:07:42 +0000 (19:07 +0200)]
worm 0.89.0423

- bonus score for completing a level, extra live for each 1000 points

13 years agoworm 0.86.0417: sprites, names, various improvements
Mischa Poslawsky [Mon, 17 Apr 2000 17:50:34 +0000 (19:50 +0200)]
worm 0.86.0417: sprites, names, various improvements

- code polish
  - abbreviate common 4-character instructions for alignment
  - inline (documented) declaration of ti86abs.inc constants
  - document memory usage
  - plan version roadmap
- worms' names can be altered from main menu
- worm growth can vary per level
- both worms die when they run into each other
- peas can be any sprite upto 8x8, changable per level
- use line routine to draw boxes easily and reliably

13 years agoworm 0.84: new version numbering
Mischa Poslawsky [Tue, 4 Apr 2000 20:12:38 +0000 (22:12 +0200)]
worm 0.84: new version numbering

Decide on a new (incompatible) versioning scheme, making the number a
fraction till completion (1.00, ie 100%) in favour of counting forward
from Peaworm 0.9[0] (likely resulting in lots of 9s eventually).

13 years agoworm 0.84.0327: external levels (wormlvl.86s)
Mischa Poslawsky [Mon, 27 Mar 2000 21:11:16 +0000 (23:11 +0200)]
worm 0.84.0327: external levels (wormlvl.86s)

Try to read levels from calculator string 'wormlvl'.  Its source is
documented and can be modified to customise levels.

13 years agoworm 0.84pre.0325: common includes, code cleanup
Mischa Poslawsky [Sat, 25 Mar 2000 10:58:14 +0000 (11:58 +0100)]
worm 0.84pre.0325: common includes, code cleanup

13 years agotrack ti86 includes; rename to .z80
Mischa Poslawsky [Sun, 22 Feb 2009 12:09:51 +0000 (13:09 +0100)]
track ti86 includes; rename to .z80

Don't know when I started using the .z80 extension, but before around
this time when I reverted to the more common TI includes (included for
convenience).

13 years agoworm 0.83.0317: peaworm mode, bouncy balls, hiscore
Mischa Poslawsky [Fri, 17 Mar 2000 14:29:04 +0000 (15:29 +0100)]
worm 0.83.0317: peaworm mode, bouncy balls, hiscore

- peaworm mode like in the original game
- hiscore saved in singleplayer games
- line routine fixed at last
- bouncing balls

13 years agoworm 0.80.0212: link improvements
Mischa Poslawsky [Sat, 12 Feb 2000 09:42:12 +0000 (10:42 +0100)]
worm 0.80.0212: link improvements

13 years agoworm 0.80.0206: partial revert?
Mischa Poslawsky [Sun, 6 Feb 2000 15:21:50 +0000 (16:21 +0100)]
worm 0.80.0206: partial revert?

13 years agoworm 0.80.0204
Mischa Poslawsky [Fri, 4 Feb 2000 19:17:12 +0000 (20:17 +0100)]
worm 0.80.0204

- screen flashes when somebody dies
- hunting game mode (will be removed again later)
- you loose 10 points for dieing

13 years agoworm 0.80.0128
Mischa Poslawsky [Fri, 28 Jan 2000 13:54:46 +0000 (14:54 +0100)]
worm 0.80.0128

- boxes in levels
- stats-bar (at top) remade, also in multiplayer games
- begin-size of worms is map-dependant
- stats-screen at game over
- race mode
- single file (integrate line.asm include)

13 years agoshiar: multiplayer, menu
Mischa Poslawsky [Fri, 3 Dec 1999 14:27:32 +0000 (15:27 +0100)]
shiar: multiplayer, menu

- multiplayer upto *four* players, deathmatch and foodmatch
- menu before game
- initial work on link play

13 years agofinal version by jonah
Jonah Cohen [Tue, 23 Nov 1999 08:31:34 +0000 (09:31 +0100)]
final version by jonah

13 years agojonah: ambidirectional scrolling, 9 levels
Jonah Cohen [Sat, 20 Nov 1999 14:04:52 +0000 (15:04 +0100)]
jonah: ambidirectional scrolling, 9 levels

13 years agowonderworm (3 levels (lines), greyscale, vertical scrolling)
Matthew Shepcar [Wed, 30 Dec 1998 21:49:48 +0000 (22:49 +0100)]
wonderworm (3 levels (lines), greyscale, vertical scrolling)

13 years agooriginal peaworm v0.9 release peaworm
Matthew Shepcar [Mon, 28 Dec 1998 19:23:34 +0000 (20:23 +0100)]
original peaworm v0.9 release