perl: gather and describe v5.8 features
authorMischa POSLAWSKY <perl@shiar.org>
Sat, 24 Jan 2015 15:39:47 +0000 (16:39 +0100)
committerMischa POSLAWSKY <perl@shiar.org>
Sun, 1 Feb 2015 17:32:40 +0000 (18:32 +0100)
perl.inc.pl

index f15a1dd..2c76e59 100644 (file)
@@ -20,8 +20,13 @@ use utf8;
 
        v5.8 => {
                new => [
-                       ['unicode overhaul'],
-                       ['PerlIO'],
+                       [q`<code>no utf8; $unicode</code>`, 'unicode overhaul: additional /\p{}/ properties'],
+                       [q`<code>binmode $fh, ':perlio'</code>`, 'file handle behaviour altered by PerlIO layers'],
+                       [q`<code>open $fh, '-|', @cmd</code>`, 'open list to fork a command without spawning a shell'],
+                       [q`<code>open $fh, '>', \$var</code>`, 'perl scalars as virtual files'],
+                       [q`<code>printf '%1$s', @args</code>`, 'syntax to use parameters out of order'],
+                       [q`<code>$num = 1_000</code>`, 'underscores between digits allowed in numeric constants'],
+#                      [q`<code>use if</code>`, 'conditional module inclusion'], # also installable in earlier versions
                ],
                release => '2002-07-18',
                distro => {